Franz Benedict von Baader


Doctor, Mining engineer, Philosopher

Born: 27.03.1765 in Munich

Died: 23.05.1841 in Munich

 

Doctorate: 1785 in Ingolstadt

University lecturer: 1826-1841 Munich

 

At the start of his academic career, Baader studied medicine and sciences in Ingolstadt and Vienna (1781-1785). He then returned to Munich, where his father was a royal physician, to practice there for a few years. In 1788 he joined the Bergakademie (mining college) in Freiberg, where his knowledge of mineralogy and chemistry was expanded into a mining qualification under the tuition of Abraham Werner. He gained further experience in this field in England and Scotland from 1792 to 1796, before returning via Hamburg to Munich. In 1799 he became a Bergrat (mining official), and was promoted to the rank of Oberbergrat (senior mining official) in 1801 and Oberstbergrat (chief mining official) in 1807. In 1808 he was made a full member of the Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften (Bavarian science academy).

After publishing a collection of his philosophical writings in 1809 under the title "Beiträge zur dynamischen Philosophie im Gegensätze der mechanischen" (contributions to dynamic philosophy as opposed to mechanical philosophy), he began to devote more and more time to writing. He was therefore not unduly disappointed when a cut-back in the number of mining and minting officials in 1820 led to his early retirement with full rank and salary. The originally planned re-instatement never took place.

Following this, Baader - who enjoyed good relations with the Russian minister Alexander von Galizin - worked on a plan to found a religious college based in St. Petersburg. This college was to contribute to the reconciliation between the Roman Catholic and Greek Orthodox churches. The plan collapsed in 1822 when Galizin fell from power and Baader, already on his way to St. Petersburg, was sent home by the Russian government.

When the University moved from Landshut to Munich in 1826, Baader was awarded an honorary professorship. He taught religious philosophy, philosophical epistemology and the teachings and writings of Jacob Böhme.

Back to page: Who are the central figures of Romantic Anthropology

 

This page was designed by Uli Wunderlich, and translated by Adam Lawrence. Update: Manfred Engel. Please contact Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel if you have any questions.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Last update:  2003-07-25 (me)

Franz Benedict von Baader


Arzt, Bergbauingenieur, Philosoph

 

Geboren: 27. 03. 1765 in München

Gestorben: 23. 05. 1841 in München

 

Promotion: 1785 in Ingolstadt (Medizin)

Lehrtätigkeit: 1826 - 1841 München

Baader studierte zu Beginn seiner Laufbahn Medizin und Naturwissenschaften in Ingolstadt und Wien (1781 - 1785). Nur für einige Jahre kehrte er zu seinem Vater, der kurfürstlicher Leibarzt war, nach München zurück, um dort zu praktizieren. 1788 ging Baader an die Bergakademie Freibergs, wo der in Mineralogie und Chemie bereits geschulte Mediziner unter der Anleitung von Abraham Werner gänzlich zum Bergmann wurde. Von 1792 - 1796 vertiefte Baader seine Kenntnisse auf diesem Gebiet in England und Schottland. Über Hamburg erfolgte die neuerliche Rückkehr nach München, wo er 1799 zum Bergrat, 1801 zum Oberbergrat und 1807 zum Oberstbergrat avancierte. 1808 wurde er zudem als ordentliches Mitglied in die Bayerische Akademie der Wissenschaften aufgenommen.

Seit er 1809 eine Sammlung seiner bisherigen philosophischen Schriften mit dem Titel "Beiträge zur dynamischen Philosophie im Gegensaze der mechanischen" veröffentlicht hatte, nahm seine schriftstellerische Tätigkeit immer mehr zu. So kam es Baader nicht ungelegen, daß er 1820 als Konsequenz aus einer Reduktion der Bergwerks- und Münzbeamten bei Belassung von Rang und Gehalt in den Ruhestand geschickt wurde. Die in Aussicht gestellte Reaktivierung erfolgte nie.

Anschließend trug sich Baader, der in guten Beziehungen zum russischen Minister Alexander von Galizin stand, mit dem Gedanken der Gründung einer Akademie für religiöse Wissenschaft, die in St. Petersburg ihren Sitz haben und zur Annäherung der römisch-katholischen und der griechisch-orthodoxen Kirche beitragen sollte. Der Plan scheiterte 1822 am Sturz Galizins - schon auf dem Weg nach St. Petersburg, wurde Baader von der russischen Regierung wieder heimgeschickt.

Bei der Verlegung der Universität von Landshut nach München bedachte man Baader 1826 mit einer Honorarprofessur. Er las über Religionsphilosophie, philosophische Erkenntniswissenschaft und über Jacob Böhmes Lehren und Schriften.

Zurück zur Seite: Wer sind die wichtigsten Anthropologen

 

 

Diese Seite wurde erstellt von Uli Wunderlich, überarbeitet von Manfred Engel. Bei Fragen und Unklarheiten wenden Sie sich bitte an den Projektleiter: Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Letzte Überarbeitung: 25.07.2003 (me)