Dietrich Georg von Kieser

 

 


Doctor, scientist, writer

 

Born: 24.08.1779 in Hamburg

Died: 11.10.1862 in Jena

 

Doctorate: 1804 in Göttingen (medicine)

University lecturer: 1812 - 1814, 1817 - 1862 Jena

 

Kieser, the son of a pastor, studied medicine in Würzburg and Göttingen before practising in Winseln an der Luhe and in Northeim (from 1806). Following his prize-winning "Memoire sur l'organisation des plantes" (1812), he received many offers of professorships. Kieser eventually decided to become extra-ordinary professor for general and specialised pathology in Jena, where he also lectured on the history of medicine, anatomy and on the physiology of plants.

His teaching was interrupted from 1814 to 1817 when he joined the Weimar troops on an expedition to France as sergeant and doctor. In 1815 Kieser, now in Prussian service, took over the directorship of the military hospitals in Lüttich and Versailles.

Following his return in 1817, Kieser's efforts in Jena were rewarded with numerous promotions and awards. He was made a full professor in 1824. In 1817, he had founded the "Archiv für den thierischen Magnetismus" (Archive for Animal Magnetism), and 12 volumes had been published by 1824.

As representative of the national university, Kieser was a member of the parliament from 1831 to 1848, and its vice-president from 1844 to 1848. He became director of the Grand Ducal Mental Hospital in 1847, continuing in that function until 1858. During his period as director of the Leopoldinisch-Carolinischen Akademie der Naturforscher (Leopoldian-Carolingian college of natural scientists), he attempted to rehabilitate Christian Gottfried Nees von Esenbeck, the college's president, who had been dismissed from the civil service for political reasons. Following Nees von Esenbeck's death in 1858, the 69-year-old Kieser became president himself. An ennoblement and the title of Imperial Palatine Duke were attached to the presidency, and Kieser accepted these as part of the celebrations surrounding his 50 year presidential anniversary, which took place a few months before his death in 1862.

Back to page: Who are the central figures of Romantic Anthropology

 

 

This page was designed by Uli Wunderlich, and translated by Adam Lawrence. Update: Manfred Engel. Please contact Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel if you have any questions.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Last update:  2003-07-25 (me)

Dietrich Georg von Kieser

 

 


Arzt, Naturwissenschaftler, Schriftsteller

 

Geboren: 24. 08. 1779 in Hamburg

Gestorben: 11. 10. 1862 in Jena

 

Promotion: 1804 in Göttingen (Medizin)

Lehrtätigkeit: 1812 - 1814, 1817 - 1862 Jena

 

Der Pfarrerssohn Kieser studierte in Würzburg und Göttingen Medizin und praktizierte nach seiner Promotion in Winseln an der Luhe und in Northeim (ab 1806). Als Folge seiner für preiswürdig befundenen Schrift "Memoire sur l `organisation des plantes" (1812) erhielt er etliche Angebote auf Übernahme einer Professur. Kieser entschied sich schließlich dafür, als außerordentlicher Professor für allgemeine und spezielle Pathologie nach Jena zu gehen, wo er auch Vorlesungen über Medizingeschichte und Anatomie sowie Physiologie der Pflanzen hielt.

Von 1814 bis 1817 wurde seine akademische Tätigkeit unterbrochen, weil er mit den weimarischen Truppen als Wachtmeister und Feldarzt nach Frankreich zog. 1815 übernahm Kieser, mittlerweile in preußischen Diensten, die Oberleitung der Kriegsspitäler in Lüttich und Versailles.

Nach seiner Rückkehr 1817 wurde Kiesers Schaffen in Jena mit zahlreichen Beförderungen und Ehrungen gewürdigt. Zum Professsor ordinarius avancierte er 1824. Mit Nasse und Eschenmayer hatte er zudem 1817 das "Archiv für den thierischen Magnetismus" begründet und bis 1824 zwölf Bände herausgegeben.

Von 1831 bis 1848 war Kieser als Vertreter der Landesuniversität Mitglied des Landtages, als dessen Vizepräsident er von 1844 bis 1848 amtierte. 1847 übernahm er die Leitung der großherzoglichen Irrenheilanstalt und behielt diese Funktion bis 1858. Als Direktor Ephemeridum der Leopoldinisch-Carolinischen Akademie der Naturforscher versuchte er, den Präsidenten der Akademie, Christian Gottfried Nees von Esenbeck, der aus politischen Gründen aus dem Staatsdienst entlassen worden war, zu rehabilitieren. Nach Nees von Esenbecks Tod 1858 wurde Kieser als 69jähriger selbst noch Präsident der Akademie. Das mit der Präsidentschaft verbundene Adelsrecht mit dem Titel eines kaiserlichen Pfalzgrafen nahm Kieser anläßlich seines 50jährigen Präsidentenjubiläums, das er 1862 wenige Monate vor seinem Tod feierte, in Anspruch.

Zurück zur Seite: Wer sind die wichtigsten Anthropologen

Diese Seite wurde erstellt von Uli Wunderlich, überarbeitet von Manfred Engel. Bei Fragen und Unklarheiten wenden Sie sich bitte an den Projektleiter: Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Letzte Überarbeitung: 25.07.2003 (me)