Henrich Steffens

 

 

Scientist, natural philosopher, writer

 

Born: 02.05.1773 in Stavanger

Died: 13.02.1845 in Berlin

 

Qualified to lecture: 1796 in Kiel (medicine)

University lecturer: 1804 - 1806 and 1808 - 1814 Halle, 1811 - 1832 Breslau, from 1832 Berlin

 

Steffens was born in Stavanger, governed by Denmark at that time, as the son of a immigrant regimental doctor from Holstein. He commenced his studies of natural history in 1790 in Copenhagen, choosing mineralology as his main subject. He qualified as a lecturer in 1796 and became a private lecturer at the University of Kiel.

In 1798 Steffens received a grant which enabled him to travel from Hamburg over the Harz to Erfurt and Jena. He met Goethe and A.W. Schlegel, became friends with Schelling, whose work he already knew, and heard Fichte’s lectures. In 1799 he also met Tieck, F. Schlegel and Schleiermacher in Berlin, before continuing his mineralogical studies at the mining college in Freiberg. In 1802, Steffens returned to Copenhagen for 2 years, before being offered a full professorship in natural philosophy, physiology and mineralology in Halle an der Saale. Schleiermacher and Reil were among his colleagues. Napoleon's invasion in 1806 led to a two-year break in Steffens' lectures. In 1811, he transferred to Breslau where he became professor of physics and philosophy. When Friedrich Wilhelm III mobilised an army against Napoleon, Steffens gave a series of emphatic speeches to inspire young men to military service. Although he had had no military experience at all, he volunteered and took part in the war of 1813/14.

Afterwards, Steffens returned to his teaching in Breslau. Later, however, he became increasingly isolated because of his political views, and was glad to be called to Berlin in 1832. There, he became professor of natural philosophy, anthropology and religious philosophy. In 1833, he was appointed rector of the University.

In his later years, Steffens increasingly pursued his literary interests. After a series of novels, he published his last work, the ten volume autobiography "Was ich erlebte" (what I have experienced) before his death in 1845.

Back to page: Who are the central figures of Romantic Anthropology

 

This page was designed by Uli Wunderlich, and translated by Adam Lawrence. Update: Manfred Engel. Please contact Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel if you have any questions.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Last update:  2003-07-25 (me)

Henrich Steffens

 

 


Naturwissenschaftler, Naturphilosoph, Schriftsteller

 

Geboren: 02. 05. 1773 in Stavanger

Gestorben: 13. 02. 1845 in Berlin

 

Habilitation: 1796 in Kiel (Mineralogie)

Lehrtätigkeit: 1804 - 1806 und 1808 - 1814 Halle, 1811 - 1832 Breslau, ab 1832 Berlin

Steffens, als Sohn eines aus Holstein eingewanderten Regimentsarztes im damals unter dänischer Vorherrschaft stehenden Stavanger geboren, begann 1790 in Kopenhagen ein Studium der Naturgeschichte mit Mineralogie als Hauptfach. 1796 habilitierte er sich als Privatdozent an der Universität in Kiel.

Mit einem Stipendium ausgestattet, reiste Steffens im Frühjahr 1798 von Hamburg über den Harz nach Erfurt und Jena. Er lernte Goethe und A. W. Schlegel kennen, befreundete sich mit Schelling, dessen Schriften er schon rezipiert hatte, und hörte Fichtes Vorlesungen. In Berlin machte er 1799 auch die Bekanntschaft Tiecks, F. Schlegels und Schleiermachers, bevor er sein mineralogisches Fachstudium an der Freiberger Bergakademie fortsetzte. 1802 kehrte Steffens für zwei Jahre nach Kopenhagen zurück, dann bekam er eine Stelle als ordentlicher Professor der Naturphilosophie, Physiologie und Mineralogie in Halle a. d. Saale angeboten. Schleiermacher und Reil waren seine Kollegen. Napoleons Einmarsch sorgte 1806 für eine zweijährige Unterbrechung von Steffens` Vorlesungen. 1811 wechselte er als Professor für Physik und Philosophie nach Breslau. Als Friedrich Wilhelm III. ein Heer gegen Napoleon mobilisierte, hielt Steffens emphatische Reden, um die Jugend für den Kriegsdienst gewinnen zu können. Steffens, bis dato ohne jegliche militärische Erfahrung, meldete sich selbst als Freiwilliger und machte den Krieg von 1813/14 mit.

Anschließend lehrte er wieder in Breslau. Später war er dort jedoch wegen politischer Differenzen zunehmend isoliert, so daß ihm der Ruf nach Berlin 1832 gelegen kam. In Berlin fungierte er als Professor der Naturphilosophie, Anthropologie und Religionsphilosophie. 1833 wurde er Rektor der Universität.

In seinen späten Jahren ging Steffens verstärkt seinen poetischen Interessen nach. Nachdem er schon eine Reihe von Novellen verfaßt hatte, veröffentlichte der Autor als letztes Werk vor seinem Tod 1845 die zehnbändige Autobiographie "Was ich erlebte".

Zurück zur Seite: Wer sind die wichtigsten Anthropologen

 

Diese Seite wurde erstellt von Uli Wunderlich, überarbeitet von Manfred Engel. Bei Fragen und Unklarheiten wenden Sie sich bitte an den Projektleiter: Prof. Dr. Manfred Engel.

FR 4.1 - Germanistik / Universität des Saarlandes
Letzte Überarbeitung: 25.07.2003 (me)