► What is materials chemistry?

Materials science as a cross-discipline between engineering and natural sciences deals with the understanding and optimization of material properties, chemistry with the synthesis and characterization of new compounds with a focus on the relationship between chemical structure, reactivity and properties.

 

Materials chemistry produces an understanding of material properties, in particular by creating chemical correlations. This is based on four steps ranging from the design of a material, the synthesis and characterization up to potential applications. While the latter is more about the engineering disciplines, the first three steps are based mainly on chemical and physical principles. One focus of the materials chemistry therefore constitutes the methodical combination of chemical synthesis and characterization together with topics from materials science.

 

► Read more about materials chemistry

► The master course "Materials chemistry"

The master program "Materials Chemistry" at the Saarland University is a joint project of the departments of chemistry and materials science and is equally open to bachelor graduates from both disciplines. The course is designed strongly interdisciplinary and research oriented.

 

In the four-semester master's program 120 credit points have to be collected - over half of them in arbitrary modules. The curriculum is roughly divided into modules with a focus on "Advanced Materials" (eg, nano-composites and polymer materials) and "modern methods" (eg, surface technology, catalysis and material processing), so everyone is able to define his major field of study individually. Special emphasis is placed on practical components that are implemented as composite interdisciplinary internships. These include, for example, in the chemical synthesis of materials followed by characterization with appropriate methods in materials science.

 

► Flyer "Master programme materials chemistry"

 

 

► More about the master programme

► Why studying in Saarbruecken?

The cooperation of Materials Science and Chemistry Divisions within the Master's program "Materials Chemistry" at the Saarland University is so far unique in Germany . By the resulting interdisciplinary approach the Saarbruecken materials chemistry enjoy a pioneering position. This is supported by integration of associated institutes in the field of material sciences that are involved through internships and lectures in teaching, such as the Leibniz Institute for New Materials.

 

In Greater Saarbrücken many companies are located in the area of ​​nanotechnology, so there is the possibility of a research-oriented internship or conducting a thesis in close consultation.

 

► Leibniz-Institut for New Materials

Zwei Studierende berichten vom Masterstudiengang Materialchemie

Contact

Study Coordinator

Dr. Christian Völzing

Saarbrücken Campus

Building C4 2, room U1.06

Phone: +49 681 302-2413

c.voelzing(at)mx.uni-saarland.de

► Materialchemie: Was ist das?

Die Materialwissenschaften als Querschnittsdisziplin zwischen Ingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften beschäftigen sich mit dem Verständnis und der Optimierung von Materialeigenschaften, die Chemie mit der Synthese und Charakterisierung neuer Verbindungen mit Hauptaugenmerk auf dem Zusammenhang von chemischer Struktur, Reaktivität und Eigenschaften.

 

Die Materialchemie stellt ein Verständnis von Materialeigenschaften insbe-sondere durch Schaffung chemischer Zusammenhänge her. Dies basiert auf vier Schritten ausgehend vom Design eines Materials über dessen Synthese und Charakterisierung bis hin zu einer potentiellen Anwendung. Während Letzteres eher Thema der ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Disziplinen ist, basieren die ersten drei Schritte im Wesentlichen auf chemisch-physikalischen Grundprinzipien. Einen Schwerpunkt der Materialchemie bildet daher die methodische Kombination aus chemischer Synthese und Charakterisierung im Zusammenspiel mit materialwissenschaftlichen Thematiken.

 

► Mehr über Materialchemie lesen

► Was erwartet mich im Studium?

Der Masterstudiengang "Materialchemie" an der Universität des Saarlandes ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Fachrichtungen Chemie und Materialwissenschaften und steht Bachelor-Absolventen beider Fachrichtungen gleichermaßen offen. Das Studium ist gezielt interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und gleichzeitig stark forschungsorientiert.

 

Im viersemestrigen Masterstudium sind 120 Kreditpunkte zu erbringen, über die Hälfte davon in frei wählbaren Modulen. Das Lehrangebot gliedert sich grob in Module mit Schwerpunkt "Moderne Materialien" (z. B. Nano- Komposit- und Polymermaterialien) und "Moderne Methoden" (z. B. Ober- flächentechnologie und Materialverarbeitung), sodass jeder seinen Studienschwerpunkt individuell setzen kann. Besonderer Wert wird auf praktische Anteile gelegt, die als interdisziplinäre Verbundpraktika realisiert sind. Diese beinhalten beispielsweise die Materialsynthese in der Chemie während die Charakterisierung mit entsprechenden Methoden in den Materialwissenschaften erfolgt.

 

► Studiengangsflyer "Master of Science Materialchemie"

 

 

► Mehr zum Studiengang "Materialchemie"

► Warum in Saarbrücken studieren?

Die Verknüpfung der Fachbereiche Materialwissenschaften und Chemie im Rahmen des Masterstudiengangs "Materialchemie" an der Saar-Uni ist deutschlandweit bislang einzigartig. Durch die daraus resultierende Inter-disziplinarität genießt die Saarbrücker Materialchemie weiterhin eine Vor- reiterposition. Diese wird untermauert durch Einbindung von An-Instituten auf dem Gebiet der Materialwissenschaften, die im Rahmen von Praktika und Vorlesungen in die Lehre involviert sind, z. B. das Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien.

 

Im Großraum Saarbrücken sind weiterhin zahlreiche Unternehmen im Bereich der Nanotechnologie angesiedelt, bei denen in enger Absprache die Möglichkeit eines forschungsnahen Praktikums oder der Durchführung einer Abschlussarbeit besteht.

 

► Leibniz-Institut für Neue Materialien

Aktuelles

Ansprechpartner

Studienkoordinator

Dr. Christian Völzing

Campus Saarbrücken

Gebäude C4 2, Raum U1.06

Tel.: 0681 302-2413

c.voelzing(at)mx.uni-saarland.de