Ganesan, Indira

About Indira Ganesan

Official Homepage

Kafka, Phillippa. On the Outside Looking In(dian): Indian Women Writers at Home and Abroad, 2003

Chander, Indira. “Indira Ganesan (1960- ).” Asian American Novelists: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, Nelson (ed.), 2000

 

Reviews

Huntley, Kristine. “As Sweet as Honey.” Booklist, vol. 109, no. 12, 2013

 “As Sweet as Honey.” Kirkus Reviews, vol. 82, no. 2, 2013

Zaleski, Jeff. “The Journey.” Publishers Weekly, vol. 248, no. 12, 2001

Seaman, Donna. “Read-Alikes: Difficult Mothers, Loyal Daughters.” Booklist, vol. 96, no. 5, 1999

Seaman, Donna. “Adult Books: Fiction.” Booklist, vol. 94, no. 9-10, 1998

Noor, Ronny. “World Literature in Review: India.” World Literature Today, vol. 72, no. 3, 1998

Bangs, Pat. “Adult Books for Young Adults: Fiction.” School Library Journal, vol. 44, no. 7, 1998

Hower, Edward. “Spice Island.” The New York Times Book Review, 29 Mar. 1998

Steinberg, Sybil and Jeff Zaleski. “Forecasts: Fiction.” Publishers Weekly, vol. 244, no. 46, 1997

Conway, Annie-Marie. “The Journey.” Times Literary Supplement, no. 4593, 1991

Curtis, Sarah. “[Untitled] Review of Inheritance.” Times Literary Supplement, no. 4920, 1997

Tucker, Debbie. “The Journey.” Library Journal, vol. 115, no. 9, 1990

Dery, Mark. “Long Islander in the Bay of Bengal.”, New York Times Book Review, 9 Sep. 1990

 

Interviews

Mishra, Sima. “Pi: An Imaginary Homeland – Interview with Indira Ganesan.” Writer’s Chronicle, vol. 48, no. 4, 2016

Goyal, Anuradha. “A Chit Chat with Indira Ganesan – Interview.” anureviews.com, 1 Sep. 2013

 

Criticism

Maxey, Ruth. South Asian Atlantic Literature, 1970-2010, 2012

Agarwal, Malti. New Perspectives on Indian English Writing, 2007

George, Rosemary Marangoly. “Of Fictional Cities and 'Diasporic' Aesthetics.” Antipode, vol. 35, no. 3, 2003

George, Rosemary Marangoly. “'At a Slight Angle to Reality': Reading Indian Diaspora Literature.” MELUS, vol. 21, no. 3, 1996

 

Works

Novels

As Sweet As Home (2013)

The Journey (2001)

Inheritance (1997)

 

Essays/Articles/Non-Fiction/Short Stories

“Reading Jhumpa Lahiri's Work” Provincetown Arts, 2013

“Meterling.” Black Renaissance, vol. 7, no. 2, 2007

“Out of the Ruins: A New York Record Lower Manhattan, Autumn.” Many Mountains Moving, vol. 6, no. 2, 2004

“Food and the Immigrant.” Half and Half: Writers on Growing up Biracial and Bicultural, O’Hearn (ed.), 1998

“Throwing Lemons.” Women's Review of Books, vol. 14, no. 9, 1994

“Musical Heroes: A Memoir.” Antaeus, vol. 70-71, 1993

“Monkey Shrine.” Mississippi Review, vol. 14, no. 3, 1986

 

Audio/Audiovisual Material

As Host: Namaste & More Radio. WOMR Provincetown/WFMR Orleans Community Radio