Dates and deadlines

The academic year at Saarland University is divided into two semesters: the winter semester and the summer semester. Most degree programmes start in the winter semester, though some allow students to begin studying in the summer semester.

The winter semester begins on 1 October and ends on 31 March. Taught courses commence around the 20th of October and run until mid February.

The summer semester starts on 1 April and ends on 30 September. Taught courses begin around the 20th of April and continue until the end of July.

The exact semester dates and a number of other key dates and deadlines for applications, enrolment and re-registration can be found on the webpage semester dates (available in German only).