Professional career

May - August 2017: Visiting Full Professor, University College Dublin, School of Computer Science.

Since May 2011: Full Professor of Phonetics and Phonology, head of the Phonetics group, Dept. of Language Science and Technology (formerly known as Dept. of Computational Linguistics and Phonetics), Saarland University, Saarbrücken.

Oct 2010 - Apr 2011: Guest Professor, Cluster of Excellence on Multimodal Computing and Interaction, Saarland University, Saarbrücken.

Oct 2007 - Sep 2010: Acting chair of Phonetics and Speech Communication at the University of Bonn.

Jan 1999 - Apr 2011: Assistant Professor, then Associate Professor (Hochschuldozent, from May 2001), then Außerplanmäßiger Professor (from Apr 2007) in Greg Dogil's Experimental Phonetics group of the Institute of Natural Language Processing (IMS) at the University of Stuttgart. Habilitation in Phonetics and Computational Linguistics (Dec 2000); title of the habilitation thesis: "German and multilingual speech synthesis", published in AIMS 7 (4).

Oct 1993 - Dec 1998: Senior research scientist (member of technical staff) in Joe Olive's speech synthesis group (Linguistics / Language Modeling Dept.) at Bell Labs in Murray Hill, NJ, USA, contributing to the multilingual Bell Labs text-to-speech synthesis system.

1987 - 1993: Researcher at Institut für Kommunikationsforschung und Phonetik (IKP), University of Bonn, Germany.

I received M.A. and Ph.D. (Dr. phil.) degrees in Communication Research and Phonetics, Linguistics, and Sociology from the University of Bonn; title of the Ph.D. thesis: "A quantitative model of German intonation - Analysis and synthesis of fundamental frequency contours" (in German), published in 1993 by Niemeyer, Tübingen. My Ph.D. advisor was Wolfgang Hess.


In 2006 I received an Alexander von Humboldt Polish Honorary Research Fellowship (equivalent of Humboldt-Forschungspreis) awarded by the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP). This fellowship supported my collaboration with Prof. Grażyna Demenko, Adam Mickiewicz University at Poznań, Poland.


Erdős number ≤ 5

   Paul Erdős[0] → Alan J Hoffman[1] → Joseph B Kruskal[2] → Mark Y Liberman[3] → Richard W Sproat[4] → BM[5]

Chomsky number ≤ 4

   Noam Chomsky[0] → Morris Halle[1] → Gunnar Fant[2] → Björn Granström[3] → BM[4]