• Current calls for tenders and offers

      more
    • News

      more

What is Transform4Europe?

In June 2020, the European Commission awarded Saarland University and partner universities from six European countries the highly coveted status of 'European University' in recognition of their trans-European higher education alliance 'Transform4Europe'.

Transform4Europe is a partnership of like-minded universities, which, despite differences in size, scope and academic profile, share a common vision for higher education in Europe. Each of the participating universities is anchored in a different region of Europe but all see themselves as agents of transformation – shaping the future of Europe by fostering and promoting knowledge entrepreneurship.

Three new partner universities – Apply now for T4EU cooperative funding!

Saarland University's Internationalization Fund now has a new funding category (funding category 5), which can be used to support research projects (funding volume up to €30,000) and other collaborative projects such as symposia, cultural events or networking meetings (funding volume up to €5,000) that are conducted jointly with our partner universities in the European University alliance Transform4Europe.

With the addition of three new partner universities to the Transform4Europe alliance (the Catholic University of Portugal, the University of Primorska in Slovenia and the French Université Jean Monnet in Saint Etienne), the spectrum of possible cooperation partners is now larger than ever. For more detailed information on funding opportunities and on how to apply, please go to the information page.

 

Members of the Transform4Europe alliance

University of Alicante (Spain)

The University of Alicante is a Spanish university whose campus is located in San Vicente del Raspeig in the province of Alicante in south-east Spain. The university was established in 1979 and currently has around 26,000 students enrolled.

 

 
Estonian Academy of Arts in Tallinn (Estonia)

The Estonian Academy of Arts is a public university located in Estonia's capital city Tallinn. The Estonian Academy of Arts (EKA) was founded in 1914 as a school of applied arts by the Estonian sculptor Jaan Koort and today has departments in the fields of architecture, design, art history, media studies, conservation and fine arts.

 

 
University of Silesia in Katowice (Poland)

The University of Silesia in Katowice was established in 1968 through the merger of the Katowice branch of the Jagiellonian University (Kraków) and the Pedagogical Institute in Katowice, which had been in existence since 1928. About 22,000 students are currently enrolled in the university's 7 faculties.

 

 
Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski (Bulgaria)

With around 25,000 students and 15 faculties, Sofia University St. Kliment Ohridski is the largest university in the Bulgarian capital Sofia. The university takes its name from its patron saint, the scholar Kliment of Ohrid. It was founded on 1 October 1888 and is the oldest higher education institution in Bulgaria. 

 

 
University of Trieste (Italy)

Founded in 1924, the University of Trieste today has around 27,500 students and a teaching staff of about 1000 in 12 faculties.

 

 
Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunus (Lithuania)

Vytautas Magnus University is a university in Kaunus, Lithuania. It was founded in 1922 and was originally known as the University of Lithuania.

 

 
Saarland University (Germany)

Saarland University was founded in 1948 under the auspices of the French government as a bilingual university.  The university has earned an international reputation for its research in computer science and informatics and for work in the life sciences and nanosciences.

 

 

During the three-year funding period, the Transform4Europe alliance will receive a total of five million euros in funding from the European Union. Around 116,000 students will be able to benefit from this new European educational partnership by making use of joint academic programmes and common service platforms. In addition, approximately 18,500 members of staff at these universities will have access to a European work environment where expertise and resources are pooled and where interinstitutional mobility is easier.

 

The core activities of the European University 'Transform4Europe'

1. European education and training

As part of the Transform4Europe alliance, students will be offered interdisciplinary and interinstitutional academic programmes with a strong European focus (Bachelor's and Master's degrees) as well as joint doctoral research programmes. Programme curricula will include topics that address issues in the alliance's three core fields: digital transformation, sustainability, and societal transformation. Students will also benefit from improved options for student mobility, more entrepreneurial knowledge and enhanced access to foreign language learning programmes.

 

2. Innovative teaching and learning environments

Best practice teaching and learning models will be developed and innovative teaching methods created and shared within the alliance's international network of partner universities. The focus here is on promoting research-based education models and co-creative learning environments. Virtual and hybrid learning forms are also being developed – a process that was started before the global coronavirus pandemic struck and that has now only grown in importance and relevance. These new digital learning environments will include an online platform that can be accessed by anyone interested in further and continuing education initiatives in the regions represented in the alliance.

 

3. Entrepreneurial knowledge for the regions

The partner universities aim to work closely with regional stakeholders from different parts of society, for example by creating lecture formats that integrate the expertise of companies or experienced professionals into the teaching and learning process, or by organizing summer schools that address issues of entrepreneurial and societal relevance.

 

4. Mobility and the European campus

Student and staff exchanges will be encouraged by establishing short-term flexible mobility schemes, including virtual exchange programmes. The mutual recognition of academic qualifications, including individual modules, will be simplified. By promoting the joint use of services at all of the participating universities and by establishing virtual offices accessible to all partners, the alliance hopes to establish the idea of a shared 'European campus'.

 

5. Governance and sustainability

The alliance partners want to create highly integrated joint governance structures that will involve academic and non-academic staff, students and regional stakeholders. Close interinstitutional collaboration is planned in the areas of fundraising, communication and mobility.

 

 

FAQs

What are the main aims of the Transform4Europe alliance?

Transform4Europe aims to become a major player and a role model within the European Education Area by 2025. It wants to create a sustainable alliance that will educate and train a new generation of motivated and skilled European knowledge entrepreneurs to drive societal transformation. The seven partner universities will work together to establish Europe-wide benchmarks for knowledge and innovation ecosystems in the participating regions with the aim of strengthening the European Higher Education Area. Another important goal for the alliance partners is the development of joint international study programmes that combine challenge-based approaches and innovative teaching standards with a strong emphasis on lifelong learning, joint degree qualifications and mutual automatic recognition of academic credentials and credits. As part of its proposed inter-university campus, Transform4Europe is also focused on developing innovative forms of mobility and cooperation to foster the professional and personal development of its students, academic staff and administrative personnel.

 

What is the mission of the Transform4Europe alliance?

The alliance's mission is to become a model virtual inter-university campus by the year 2025. This campus will be the starting point for the joint strategic development of the alliance in close cooperation with the regions in which the partner universities are active. It will also act as the centre for the education and training of knowledge entrepreneurs by the universities in the alliance.

 

What are the main areas of focus of the Transform4Europe alliance?

Transform4Europe has three main areas of focus: digitalization, ecology and sustainability, and social change and inclusion. These topics will be an integral part of the academic and continuing education programmes offered at the participating institutions.

 

What does knowledge entrepreneurship mean?

To meet the challenges of the future, Europe needs knowledge entrepreneurs who can identify, embrace and actively create opportunities for innovation and change. Knowledge entrepreneurship differs from entrepreneurship in the traditional sense of the word in that it is not focused on the production of material goods or on maximizing monetary profit, but rather on increasing knowledge production and on developing application-driven knowledge and expertise. The Transform4Europe alliance has extended this concept of knowledge entrepreneurship to include a values-based dimension that covers aspects such as broad social responsibility and European citizenship. Transform4Europe graduates and the members of the universities in the alliance identify with this spirit of knowledge entrepreneurship and see it as a key element of their future education and training and as a core driver of all that they do.

 

Contact

Lukas Redemann
Internal project coordination at the UdS 
IB | Internationalisation Department
Tel.: +49 681 302-2879
lukas.redemann@uni-saarland.de

 

 

Website of the Alliance

https://www.transform4europe.eu/

 

Disclaimer

The content of this website represents the views of the author only and is his/her sole responsibility. The European Commission and the Agency do not accept any responsibility for use that may be made of the information it contains.

Was ist „Transform4Europe“?

Die Universität des Saarlandes wurde im Juni 2020 zur „Europäischen Hochschule“ gekürt. Gemeinsam mit Partnerhochschulen aus sechs europäischen Staaten hat die Saar-Universität die begehrte Auszeichnung der Europäischen Kommission für die Allianz „Transform4Europe“ erhalten.

„Transform4Europe“ ist eine Partnerschaft, die sich aus gleichgesinnten Universitäten zusammensetzt. Trotz ihrer Unterschiede in Größe, Umfang und Profil teilen sie eine gemeinsame Vision für die Hochschulbildung in Europa – sie verstehen sich als wichtiger, in der jeweiligen Region verankerter Akteur bei der Gestaltung der Zukunft Europas durch einen wissensunternehmerischen Ansatz.

Mitglieder der Transform4Europe-Allianz

Universität Alicante (Spanien)

Die Universität Alicante ist eine spanische Universität mit Sitz in San Vicente del Raspeig in der Provinz Alicante, nahe der Stadt Alicante. Sie wurde 1979 gegründet, 2008 waren hier 53.000 Studierende eingeschrieben.

 
Estnische Kunstakademie in Tallinn (Estland)

Die Estnische Kunstakademie ist eine staatliche Kunstakademie mit Sitz in der estnischen Hauptstadt Tallinn. Die Estnische Kunstakademie (kurz: EKA) wurde 1914 als Schule für angewandte Kunst von dem estnischen Bildhauer Jaan Koort gegründet und besteht heute aus Fachabteilungen für Architektur, Design, Kunstgeschichte, Medienwissenschaft, Denkmalpflege und Bildende Kunst.

 
Schlesische Universität in Katowice (Polen)

Die Schlesische Universität Katowice entstand 1968 in Katowice durch die Zusammenlegung der dortigen Niederlassung der Krakauer Jagiellonen-Universität mit der bereits 1928 gegründeten Pädagogischen Hochschule in Katowice. Im Jahre 2004 studierten ca. 45.000 Studierende an den 12 Fakultäten der Schlesischen Universität.

 
Universität St. Kliment Ohridski in Sofia (Bulgarien)

Die Sofioter Universität „Hl. Kliment Ohridski“ ist mit rund 25.000 Studierenden die größte Universität in der bulgarischen Hauptstadt Sofia. Benannt ist sie nach dem Gelehrten und Heiligen Kliment von Ohrid. Die Universität wurde am 1. Oktober 1888 gegründet und ist die älteste Universität des Landes. Die Universität gliedert sich in 15 Fakultäten.

 
Universität Triest (Italien)

Die Universität Triest wurde im Jahre 1924 als Hochschule von Triest gegründet . Heute umfasst die Universität zwölf Fakultäten mit 27.500 Studierenden und etwa 1.000 Dozierenden.

 
Vytautas Magnus Universität in Kaunas (Litauen)

Die Vytautas-Magnus-Universität ist eine Universität in Kaunas, Litauen. Die VDU wurde 1922 als „Universität Litauens“ gegründet.

 

Die Allianz „Transform4Europe“ wird in den kommenden drei Jahren mit jeweils fünf Millionen Euro durch die Europäische Union gefördert. Durch diese Partnerschaft werden rund 116.000 Studierende von einer europäischen Ausbildung profitieren und gemeinsame Studienangebote und Plattformen nutzen können. Zudem wird den rund 18.500 Beschäftigten ein europäisches Arbeitsumfeld geboten, in dem die Mobilität zwischen den Hochschulen vereinfacht wird und Expertise und Ressourcen gebündelt werden.

Die wichtigsten Aktivitäten der Europäischen Hochschule „Transform4Europe“

1. Europäische Ausbildung

Im Rahmen der Allianz sollen Studierenden hochschulübergreifende, interdisziplinäre und auf Europa ausgerichtete Studiengänge geboten werden, auf Bachelor- und Master-Ebene sowie als gemeinsame Doktorandenprogramme. In die Studienpläne werden Themen aus den drei Schwerpunktbereichen digitale Transformation, Nachhaltigkeit und gesellschaftlicher Wandel aufgenommen. Die Studierenden sollen zudem von mehr Mobilitätsangeboten, mehr unternehmerischem Knowhow und erweiterten Möglichkeiten zum Fremdsprachenerwerb profitieren.

 

2. Innovative Lehr- und Lernumgebungen

In dem internationalen Netzwerk des Verbunds sollen Best-Practice-Beispiele das Lehren und Lernen weiterentwickeln und innovative Lehrmethoden kreiert und vermittelt werden. Der Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Förderung von forschungsorientiertem und ko-kreativem Lernen. Auch werden virtuelle und gemischte Lernformen entwickelt – ein Vorhaben, das schon vor der Corona-Pandemie geplant war und nun besonders aktuell ist. Die neuen digitalen Lernräume werden eine Online-Plattform umfassen, die an Weiterbildung Interessierten aus den jeweiligen Regionen, offenstet. 

3. Unternehmerisches Knowhow für die Regionen

Die Partnerhochschulen wollen sich mit Akteuren aus verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen in ihren Regionen eng vernetzen, zum Beispiel durch Vorlesungsformate, mit denen Unternehmen und Praktiker in die Lehre eingebunden werden, oder durch Sommerschulen zu unternehmerischen und gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen. 

4. Mobilität und europäischer Campus

Der Austausch von Studierenden und Beschäftigten innerhalb der Allianz soll gefördert werden, auch durch kurzfristige und flexible Mobilitätsprogramme und virtuellen Austausch als “Mobility at home“-Erfahrung. Die gegenseitige Anerkennung von Studienabschlüssen oder auch einzelnen Studieninhalten soll vereinfacht werden. Durch die gemeinsame Nutzung von Serviceangeboten an allen Standorten und die Einrichtung gemeinsamer virtueller Büros soll ein „europäischer Campus“ entstehen.

5. Governance und Nachhaltigkeit

Die Verbundpartner wollen gemeinsame Governance-Strukturen einrichten, an denen akademisches und nicht-akademisches Personal sowie Studierende und regionale Interessenvertreter mitwirken. Unter anderem in den Bereichen Fundraising, Kommunikation und Mobilität soll es campusübergreifend eine enge Zusammenarbeit geben.

 

FAQs

Was sind die Hauptziele der Transform4Europe-Allianz?

Ziel von „Transform4Europe“ ist die Schaffung einer nachhaltigen Allianz, die mit ihrem Konzept des Wissensunternehmertums Schlüsselakteure der gesellschaftlichen Transformation ausbildet und gleichzeitig innerhalb des europäischen Bildungsraums bis 2025 ein wichtiger Akteur mit Modellcharakter ist. Die sieben Partneruniversitäten streben dabei an, aus den beteiligten Regionen europaweite Referenzen für Wissens- und Innovationsökosysteme zu machen, um die Stärkung des europäischen Hochschulraums zu fördern. Darüber hinaus ist die Weiterentwicklung des Studienangebots durch die Integration eines herausforderungsbasierten Ansatzes und innovativer Lehrstandards mit einem starken Schwerpunkt auf lebenslangem Lernen, gemeinsamen Abschlüssen und gegenseitiger Anerkennung innerhalb von „Transform4Europe“ ein wichtiges Ziel. Auch ist „Transform4Europe“ darauf ausgerichtet, innovative Formen der Mobilität und der Zusammenarbeit für die berufliche und persönliche Entwicklung ihrer Mitglieder (Studierende, wissenschaftliches Personal und Verwaltungspersonal) im Rahmen des interuniversitären Campus „Transform4Europe“ zu entwickeln.

Was ist die Mission der Transform4Europe-Allianz?

Die Mission von „Transform4Europe“ ist es, bis zum Jahr 2025 ein Modell für einen virtuellen interuniversitären Campus zu werden. Dieser Campus dient als Ausgangspunkt für die gemeinsame Entwicklung der Hochschulallianz in strategischer Zusammenarbeit mit den umliegenden Regionen und als Zentrum für die Ausbildung von Wissensunternehmern durch die Partnerhochschulen.

Was sind die Schwerpunktbereiche der Transform4Europe-Allianz?

Die drei Transform4Europe-Schwerpunktbereiche sind Digitalisierung, Ökologie und Nachhaltigkeit sowie gesellschaftlicher Wandel und Inklusion. Sie werden integraler Bestandteil der Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge und der weiteren Bildungsangebote sein.

Was bedeutet Wissensunternehmertum?

Die Wissensunternehmer, die Europa braucht, sollen zu Innovation und Wandel beitragen, indem sie Chancen erkennen, ergreifen und auch aktiv schaffen. Wissensunternehmertum unterscheidet sich vom traditionellen wirtschaftlichen Konzept des Unternehmertums dadurch, dass es nicht auf Produktion von materiellen Gütern oder Maximierung von monetärem Gewinn abzielt, sondern auf die Steigerung der Wissensproduktion und die Entwicklung von Wissen und Expertise durch einen anwendungsorientierten Ansatz. Die Transform4Europe-Allianz ergänzt dieses Konzept des Wissensunternehmertums um eine wertebasierte Dimension in Richtung umfassender sozialer Verantwortung und europäischer Bürgerschaft. Transform4Europe-Absolventen/-Absolventinnen und die Mitglieder unserer Universitäten sollen sich mit dem wissensunternehmerischen Geist der Allianz identifizieren und ihn als Referenzbegriff für ihre Lern- und Ausbildungsbedürfnisse und ihr gesamtes Handeln betrachten.

Kontakt

Carola Hodyas
Interne Projektkoordination an der UdS 
Präsidialbüro | Stabsaufgaben Internationales
Tel.: +49 681 302-5039
carola.hodyas@uni-saarland.de