Environmental Analysis Unit

As a scientific institution, the Environmental Analysis Unit of the Saarland University is part of the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Technology. It conducts projects in the field of environmental monitoring and development of methods for the status evaluation of waters. The Unit co-operates closely with related institutions inside and outside the Saarland University, with non-university research facilities and local authorities. 


The Environmental Analysis Unit focuses primarily on the development, establishment and implementation of chemical analyses to identify physical-chemical quality parameters in the field of common water protection. Here, mobile measuring stations are used, enabling a high-frequency detection of different quality parameters right at the water front, as well as stationary instrumental analysis like mass and atomic spectroscopy and fluorescence spectroscopy in the lab. Mass spectrometry for target and non-target analysis of organic pollutants is of particular importance. Validation and interpretation of the analytical data on scientific principles and consulting for different organisations concerning suitable measures to improve the ecological state are also a part of the working field. Measuring campaigns are planned and organised, referring analyses are conducted alone or in co-operation with other institutions and regional and federal authorities.  The Unit thus provides service for state authorities on the one hand, and on the other hand allows and supports scientific work and youth development in an important ecological field. 
The supervising authorities are strongly supported, as the Unit's activities follow preferably their issues and programmes, although it is independent and mainly committed to scientific research. 


Scientific advisory board: 
Prof. Dr. Guido Kickelbick und Prof Dr. Ralf Kautenburger, Inorganic Solid State Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Christopher Kay, Physical Chemistry and Didactics of Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Volkhard Helms, Bioinformatics

Managing directors: 
Prof. Dr. Guido Kickelbick
Phone: 0681 302 70651    

Prof. Dr. Christopher Kay      
Phone: 0681 302 2213   

Scientific project management:
Prof. Dr. Ralf Kautenburger      
Phone: 0681 302 2171    

Project Coordination and deputy scientific project management:
Angelika Meyer      
Phone: 0681 302 4230    

Scientific staff 
Dr. Bastian Oberhausen    
Phone: 0681 302 70653    

Dr. Klaus Hollemeyer
Tel.: 0681 302 3721

Kevin Staudt
Tel.: 0681 302 2426

Elisabeth Fünfrocken    
Phone: 0681 302 4836    

Nicole Megel    
Phone: 0681 302 70656    

Susanne Elvers-Hornung    
Phone: 0681 302 70656  

Equipment and methods in the lab

  • Inductively Coupled Plasma Optical Emission Spectrometry (ICP-OES)
  • Fluorescence-Absorption-Spectrometry
  • Total Reflection X-ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy (TXRF)
  • Ion Chromatography (IC)
  • UV/Vis-Photometry
  • Elemental Analysis (TOC)
  • Gas Chromatography with Time-of-Flight Mass Spectrometry (GC-TOFMS)
  • Fourier-Transform Ion Cyclotron Resonance Mass Spectrometry (FT-ICRMS)

(Semi-) continuous measuring methods in the measuring stations

  • Photometry (ammonium, phosphate, TOC/TIC, sulfate…) 
  • Potentiometry via Ion Sensitive Probes (chloride, nitrate, ammonium, potassium) 
  • Fluorescence-Spectrometry