Structure and Content of the Europaicum Certificate

Europe creates opportunities. Those who know the law of the EU, who know how the European economy works, what differentiates cultures and what unites them - in other words, those who have European skills and competencies will have advantages in their professional lives. This applies to both the international and the German labour market, where European competencies are increasingly required as European countries continue to grow together.


Structure of Europaicum Certificate

Europaicum Certificate is an additional qualification with 24 ECTS. To complete the certificate you need to study three modules:

  • Modern European Languages (6 ECTS)
  • Basic Module (9 ECTS), in which a broad basic knowledge on Europe can be acquired
  • Advanced Module (9 ECTS), where students can follow their individual interests on European topics.


Europaicum Certificate: Language Module and Basic Module

Modern European Languages (6 ECTS)

In the area of 'Modern European Languages' (language module), students are required to complete courses corresponding to 6 ECTS credits. Students may take courses in one or more modern European language(s), "German as a foreign language" is also possible for international students. These courses are offered by Saarland University’s Language Centre:

  • 6 ECTS points
  • one or more modern european languages (or german for international students)
Basic Module (9 ECTS)

The Basic Module aims to teach basic knowledge on European topics. Students need to complete courses from at least two of the four interdisciplinary subject areas.

Students may take courses in the following subject areas:

  • European Law and European Economy
  • European History, European Culture, European Religion, European Literature and Art
  • European Politics, Intercultural Communication, European Geography
  • Knowledge Entrepreneurship


  • 9 ECTS points in total
  • two out of four topic areas
  • "Knowledge Entrepreneurship" obligatory for Advanced Module "Transform4Europe"
  • "EurIdentity Basic Module: Foundations of Europe" obligatory for Advanced Module "EurIdentity Certificate"

Europaicum Certificate Advanced Modules

Advanced Module 1: Knowledge on Europe (9 ECTS)

In this module students gain specific knowledge about Europe and the EU.  Topic areas are European Law and European Economy, European History, European Culture, European Religion, European Literature and Art, European Politics, Intercultural Communication, European Geography.

Students complete 9 CP in courses of their choice, either from several thematic fields or only from one thematic field. All courses listed in lsf in this module can be recognized.

  • 9 ECTS
  • all classes listed in this module
  • optional mobility
Advanced Module 2: European University - Transform4Europe (9 ECTS)

This module consist of 9 ECTS points which have to be studied in one topic. Students choose digital Transformation, environmental Transformation or societal Transformation.
Courses from the common course catalogue of the partner universities Transform4Europe can be choosen.


  • 9 ECTS
  • "Knowledge Entrepreneurship" as a mandatory class in basic module
  • mandatory mobility  (virtual mobility is possible) of 6 ECTS. A Learning Agreement must be submitted previous to mobility.
  • language: english

More information and link to common course catalogue

Advanced Module 3: EurIdentity Certificate (9 ECTS)

In this module you study across national borders at the universities of Liège, Lorraine, Trier, Kaiserslautern, Luxemburg und htw saar.


  • 9 ECTS
  •  "EurIdentity Basic Module: Foundations of Europe" as a mandatory class in basic module
  • mandatory mobility (virtual mobility is possible). A Learning Agreement must be submitted in advance.

More information and common course catalogue of EurIdentity partner universities

Structure Europaicum Certificate

Study Regulations Europaicum Certificate

The current study regulations in the Europaicum Certificate have been in effect since the winter semester 2021/22 (StO 2021). Students who have already enrolled before the winter semester 2021/22 study according to the former  study regulations (StO 2017). A transfer to the new regulations is possible via the SIM portal (instructions can be found here).

Study regulations (2021)