Bachelor's degree

The Bachelor's degree is the first degree of a study programme and already qualifies for a profession. A Bachelor's programme usually lasts six semesters. The Bachelor's degree can be complemented by a four-semester Master's programme. There are three types of Bachelor's degree programmes. They each comprise 180 CP and are made up as follows:

Single-subject Bachelor

  • Subject-related core modules with Bachelor thesis
  • Subsidiary subject, if defined in the examination regulations

Dual-subject Bachelor with a supplementary subject

  • Major subject: 93 CP (includes 10 CP Bachelor thesis)
  • Subsidiary subject: 63 CP
  • Supplementary subject: 24 CP

Dual-subject Bachelor without a supplementary subject

  • Extended main subject: 117 CP (includes 10 CP Bachelor thesis)
  • Subsidiary subject: 63 CP

Subject overview

Central Student Advisory Service

Saarbrücken Campus
Building A4 4, Ground floor
Phone: +49 681 302-3513

Central Student Advisory Service

Accredited study programmes

Saarland University was one of the first universities in Germany to achieve Quality Assurance Accreditation and has held the Accreditation Council's official quality mark continuously since 2012.

Quality management